What States Require Boat Titles?

South Carolina is one of many states that require boat title services. These states include:

  • California
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina.
  • South Dakota.
  • Texas.
  • Utah.
  • Vermont.
  • Virginia.
  • Washington.
  • West Virginia.
  • Wisconsin.

Where is Boat Titling Optional?

Boat owners in Mississippi may get a title for their boat. So, if you buy a boat from that state, the seller might not have a title.

States may change their boat titling requirements without notice. To get the most up-to-date information about titling and non-titling states for boats and outboard motors, visit SCDNR.

Get Boat Title Service for South Carolina

Our book, “Boat Title Service for South Carolina” walks you through the process for accessing SCDNR’s boat title services. You’ll save time and money via the book’s quick-start guide, helpful hints, and clickable links to online resources. Instantly and securely download the book for $9.95 via Gumroad, our service provider.